top of page

Kevser Aktas and her Dream of Mathematics for All!!!


Kevser Aktas, the number theorist whose projects aim to inspire youth and ignite a facination for mathematics. We look forward to seeing her at the 4th Heidelberg Laureate Forum.

What led you to do the Mathematics for All project and the Erasmus Programme for Youth in Action?

After I completed my PhD in number theory, I decided to develop a mathematical project related with social sciences. This idea goes back to my master studies, where I worked as an elementary school teacher. It was very difficult but an amazing experience both studying hard problems in number theory as a master student and teaching elementary school algebra and geometry at the same time. I started to think about a relationship between number theory and teaching it in a more elementary way.

When the time came to finish my PhD in number theory, I decided to do something completely different that I am used to. I started to get involved in Erasmus Youth in Action Programme projects and was finally invited by the British Council to Birmingham as a representative of Turkey and had the opportunity to observe the project management of the Youth in Action Programme. Then I decided to develop my own project. There was nearly no mathematics projects related with program, which is now called the Erasmus+ Youth in Action Programme. Their aim is a cultural exchange between European countries and to give young people opportunities to network, to discuss the problems and solutions on youth unemployment and career options.

One of the most important questions is determining how the problem solving process works and approaching this process is required for daily decision making. The other side of the picture shows that we have responsibilities to our families, to the society and to each other. Why don’t we use mathematics to see the future better? Critical and analytical thinking are crucial at that moment and must be implemented. Life is full of problems for everyone and every society. The clever method is finding solutions together with analytical thinking and trying to use our creativity.

Who participated in the project?

... Click here to read more from the link of Heidelberg Laureate Forum.


bottom of page